Trouble ssh-ing into RPi3B+

Hi guys, kind of a noob here - I’m having trouble SSH-ing into my pwnagotchi running on a pi3b+ (ver. 1.3.0 of the firmware)

The regular UI works on my inkypi screen, but I’m trying to access the handshake files and access manual mode so I can get into the web UI.

Here’s what I tried:

• connecting via Ethernet to my windows & mac computers
  • assigned ip to 10.0.0.1 and 255.255.255.0 subnet
  • ssh [email protected] or 10.0.0.1 resulted in: ‘connection refused’ (although the device was detected when I pinged it)
  • tried changing the connection via one of my pi3’s USB ports (USB-A to USB-C) but it didn’t detect it as a network device

I’ve been scouring the subreddit and this forum and heard it has something to do with usb0 and eth0? I have no idea what that means.

This project really has me pumped and I’d like to explore it much further. I’d appreciate it if someone can provide a solution or explanation for my troubles. Thanks in advance!

For raspbian, the default interface for the NIC on the pi3b+ is eth0, whereas the USB data port on the 0W is usb0. I plugged my pi3b+ into my network and grabbed the IP it was assigned and used that to connect. Oddly I had to use my Mac mini to SSH into the pi to disable the usb0 interface before it would let me connect from any other source (windows/Android).

I have access to my router so I can try that. I got an old macbook I can work with. Did you use any specific app/program to ssh into it? Or did u just use terminal?

As I use the mini for a headless server, I ended up just using putty or juicessh (depending on windows/Android) into it and then from there the CLI SSH already on the mini. In case you aren’t familiar with it, the syntax is ssh [email protected]{IP}.